Indiana Battery Laws

Facing battery charges in Indiana can be a life altering experience. You may be looking at large fines and a lengthy prison sentence depending on the specifics of your case. This possibility is no doubt frightening.

Your battery charge may have come about from an act of self defense. Many battery charges result from getting involved in a fight, very possibly when you weren’t even the aggressor! The police often charge the person who ended up being the least hurt, or the person who files charges first.

call_now

If you only acted in self defense, then you need to fight these charges in court to protect yourself from the risk of ending up with a permanent criminal record for life.

But if you made a mistake you now regret or if your actions were taken out of context by police, we can help.

Our defense attorneys have handled many criminal battery cases in Indiana criminal courts. We know how the system reacts to crimes of violence and are aware that you might face an uphill battle. But we can work together to make sure your side of the story is heard, and you get the legal protection you need and deserve under the US and state constitutions.

When facing charges like this it is easy to feel like you have already been convicted. You may wonder how a fair trial is possible when it feels like no one will listen to your side of the story. We will listen and we will ensure that your rights are protected at every stage of the criminal justice process.

Find out exactly what we can do to help by calling for a free legal consultation today.

Indiana Criminal Battery – Laws & Penalties

The definition of battery under Indiana law is to knowingly or intentionally touch anyone in a manner that is rude, angry, or insolent. Generally, this offense is a Class B Misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and fines reaching $1,000.

However, in certain situations this offense is elevated to a Class A misdemeanor which carries a potential sentence of up to one year in jail and $5,000 in fines. You may face this Class A misdemeanor offense if the battery involves any of the following:

  • Results in bodily injury to someone,
  • Is committed against a police officer,
  • Is committed against a correctional officer, or
  • Is committed against a firefighter.

There are also certain situations which elevate a battery charge to a Class D felony with a potential sentence of 6 months to 3 years in prison. Those situations include if the offense involved:

  • The victim being under 14 years old,
  • The victim having a mental or physical disability and you are their caretaker,
  • This is your 2nd conviction of battery against the same victim,
  • The victim being a police officer, correctional officer, school employee, healthcare provider, or firefighter.

Other elevations exist for battery. Those include:

Class C Felony Battery in Indiana – Penalties

potential 2-8 years in prison

  • If the batter results in serious bodily injury or if it is committed with a deadly weapon,
  • If it results in injury to a pregnant woman and you knew the woman was pregnant.

Class B felony battery in Indiana – Penalties

potential 6-20 years in prison

  • If the battery results in serious bodily injury to a person less than 14 years of age and you are at least 18 years of age.
  • If it results in the death of an endangered adult

Class A felony battery in Indiana – Penalties

potential 20-50 years in prison

  • If the battery resulted in the death of a person less than 14 years of age and you are at least 18

Ref: IC 35-42-2-1

Get Legal Help on a Battery Charge in Indiana. No obligation for our Consultation

Battery offenses aren’t dealt with lightly in Indiana courts. You need a qualified and experienced criminal defense attorney fighting on your behalf when you go into court. Call us to discuss your case today.

Be Sociable, Share!